Night at the Museum

After our session at the Mind Cafe and the brief glimpse of the National Day fireworks, we moved on to the National Museum for a group portrait session.

First up, I set up a single speedlight unit just behind Eugenia and Liyan to light up the arch, David. It also gave the ladies a nice subtle highlight. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the equipment to eliminate David’s shadow being cast upwards.

Eugenia and Liyan with David

In the same set up, I took shots for a few other pals. Here is Aaron and his brother Justin.

Aaron and Justin with David

We moved on towards the back of the museum. Nothing technical about the lighting for this picture, I was just playing with composition.

Eugenia and Liyan

Made this fun composition with everyone (except myself) messing around with the headphones.

A fun shot with everyone in the picture

What exactly is Yangyi listening to?

And more messing around…

Another fun group portrait

With flash firing from camera right to light up everything more evenly

Speedlight firing from camera right

On your mark...

Another wacky group photo. Speedlight firing from camera left.

I thought I would do something fierce...

I thought I would do something fierce...

And here’s the favorite shot, with much thanks to Yangyi for holding up the speedlight unit on camera left.

There is no charge for awesome-ness

There is no charge for awesome-ness

More photos available at my multiply album.

Leave a Reply

